top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Garland

Christianity & Suffering

Hey friends, over time and self-experience I have learned that Christianity and suffering are a package deal. While difficult, trials and hard times can result in enormous positives, both for yourself and for others. For me life's difficulties have actually drawn me closer to God, and other beautiful outcomes. When I feel like my world is crumbling around me, I remind myself that God is right there walking the journey alongside me. He is looking forward to hearing from me.


Throughout the Bible you will find many stories of God’s faithfulness to his people. No one’s life was without trouble, no one escaped suffering, not even Jesus.


What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger! As a Christian, we shouldn’t be surprised by the trials that we face. It shouldn’t seem strange at all.


Have you ever considered that God could be using that trial to help you grow into who He’s called you to be. To shape you into the man or woman He has created you to be. Trials come with the territory of being a Christ follower. God uses these experiences to shape our heart and our character, and to also provide hope and support to others who may someday face a similar situation.


What happens when we recognize that these seasons of trials are seasons of growth, seasons of spiritual awakening, and seasons of personal revival?

  • We learn to look for the lessons and look for the purpose in our pain. We begin to align our thinking with God’s thinking and partner with Christ in our suffering.


When we face trials, may our hope be rooted in the anchor of Emmanuel, God with us. He promises not to abandon his people. He has already gone before you and me. Follow his lead, and let His strength bolster you in your weakness.


Prayer: Lord, God, give me strength and courage to face the overwhelming and hard tasks ahead of me. Be with me in the midst of it all. Lift my eyes when I start to fear. Come in close with your spirit to remind me that you are with me. Lead me into goodness, God, I trust you. In the name of your son Jesus, I pray, Amen.


Exercise:

Consider your trials Joy!!

1. Think about what God is trying to teach you.

2. Think about what he is preparing you for.

3. Think about the prayers you have prayed.


Scripture Reference:

Deuteronomy 31:6 Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”


2 Corinthians 4:8-9 We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.


1 Peter 5:10 And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2022 by givegrace.com. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page