top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Garland

How can I serve others?

Hey, my friends, God didn’t create us to be takers, he created us to be givers. To be like him!

Proverbs says “Whoever is kind to the poor lends to the Lord, and he will reward them for what they have done. Proverbs 19:17

Notice it doesn’t say whoever gives money to the poor…. It says whoever is kind to the poor. The word for “kind” can also mean “merciful” or “gracious”.

Kindness to the poor helps them understand that they are still part of the world, and that God loves them so much that he sent me or you to be kind to them in many different ways. Despite their situation, they’re still human. Being kind to the poor is an act towards God. It reveals our heart which should reflect the heart of Christ.


Here are a few ways you can start to serve/help others…

1. Give time, energy, forgiveness, love, compassion.

2. Offer words of advice and encouragement.

3. Give your gifts that God has blessed you with to help someone else.

4. Look for ways to give financially to someone in need.


Prayer: Lord Jesus, forgive me for the times when money stood in my way of helping others. Forgive me of the times when selfishness stood in the way of helping others. Show me the needs around me, in my community and beyond. Help me to be cognizant of the people I’m influencing whether I’m aware or not aware. Lord, help me to represent you in all I say and do and to be mindful that my actions now have an effect on my eternal life, which I pray will be with you. Cleanse me of any selfishness and help me to live for you alone. God, how are you calling me to serve? Who are you calling me to serve? Where are you calling me to serve? I want to fulfill my duty to serve, In Jesus name, I pray, Amen.


Scripture Reference


Proverb 11:24-25 One person gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshes others will be refreshed.


Acts 20:35 In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ ”


1 Peter 4:10-11 Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.


2 Corinthians 9:6-10 Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work. As it is written: They have freely scattered their gifts to the poor; their righteousness endures forever.” Now he who supplies seed to the Sower and bread for food will also supply and increase your store of seed and will enlarge the harvest of your righteousness.


Ephesians 6:6-8 Obey them not only to win their favor when their eye is on you, but as slaves of Christ, doing the will of God from your heart. Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not people, because you know that the Lord will reward each one for whatever good they do, whether they are slave or free.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2022 by givegrace.com. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page