top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Garland

Jesus


How the Birth of Jesus came about: Matthew 1:18-24 This is how the birth of Jesus the Messiah came about: His mother Mary was pledged to be married to Joseph, but before they came together, she was found to be pregnant through the Holy Spirit. Because Joseph, her husband, was faithful to the law, and yet did not want to expose her to public disgrace, he had in mind to divorce her quietly. But after he had considered this, an angel of the Lord appeared to him in a dream and said, “Joseph's son of David, do not be afraid to take Mary home as your wife, because what is conceived in her is from the Holy Spirit. She will give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins.” All this took place to fulfill what the Lord had said through the prophet: “The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel” (which means “God with us”). When Joseph woke up, he did what the angel of the Lord had commanded him and took Mary home as his wife.


Philippians 2:9-11 Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.


Jesus is God’s selfie. He is the exact representation and manifestation of God Himself. He isn’t just a friend. He isn’t part of the group hopping into the photo. Jesus is God’s selfie. God is invisible to us in His essence. Our finite beings cannot comprehend or see Him, or it would vaporize us. We cannot know His heart, His person and His character intimately because He is the wholly Other who sits outside our realm of understanding. But out of God’s great love for us, He desired to be known by us. He wanted to be seen by us. So, in order to do that, He had to come to us in a form and fashion that we would be able to understand. He had to be both man and God simultaneously, which, although this gave us a greater glimpse into who God is.


In John 8:48-59, we come across my favorite name of Jesus. It is the name, “I Am.” When Jesus introduced this name to us at this moment in history, He drew many in closer to God. But He also pushed many more away. This is a name you cannot halfway embrace.


Jesus is the center of all life and the central focus of all that is in heaven and earth. He is everything you need. When you have Him, you have access to all the riches of heaven. He is the glory. He is your provision. He is everything!


Jesus wants you to know Him, His thoughts, His ways, His glory, and His Word. He longs for every believer to live an abundant and full life overflowing with God’s goodness.


Jesus did not come to give us a life filled with lack, poverty, and misery. He not only came to give us life in its abundance, but He is also abundant life.


Facts about Jesus

· Jesus was born in Bethlehem in Judea.

· Jesus knew no sin. He was and is the sinless sacrifice who died for our sins and the sin of the world. He died so that we might have life and life more abundantly.

-The bible tells us that the sins of the world were laid on him, and the Father struck him and punished him for those sins so that we would never have to be punished. He became a curse so that we could be blessed. And though he had never sinned, he was pronounced guilty, so that we could be pronounced innocent.


Isaiah 53:5But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.

· Jesus put on flesh in order to conquer sin, death, hell, and the grave, reconciling man back to God.


Acts 2:22-24 “Fellow Israelites, listen to this: Jesus of Nazareth was a man accredited by God to you by miracles, wonders and signs, which God did among you through him, as you yourselves know. This man was handed over to you by God’s deliberate plan and foreknowledge; and you, with the help of wicked men, put him to death by nailing him to the cross. But God raised him from the dead, freeing him from the agony of death, because it was impossible for death to keep its hold on him.


· Jesus Christ came to this world to reconcile us (sinful men) with a Holy God.

John 3:16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

· His crucifixion and blood redeemed us and cleansed the sin that separated us from the Father.

· He has been taken up into heaven so that the promise of God is fulfilled upon the believers.

· His first miracle was in Cana, He turned water into wine.

· The 2nd sign Jesus Performed was the healing of an Official’s son.

John 4:46-54 As he traveled through Galilee, he came to Cana, where he had turned the water into wine. There was a government official in nearby Capernaum whose son was very sick. When he heard that Jesus had come from Judea to Galilee, he went and begged Jesus to come to Capernaum to heal his son, who was about to die. Jesus asked, “Will you never believe in me unless you see miraculous signs and wonders?” The official pleaded, “Lord, please come now before my little boy dies.” Then Jesus told him, “Go back home. Your son will live!” And the man believed what Jesus said and started home. While the man was on his way, some of his servants met him with the news that his son was alive and well. He asked them when the boy had begun to get better, and they replied, “Yesterday afternoon at one o’clock his fever suddenly disappeared!” Then the father realized that that was the very time Jesus had told him, “Your son will live.” And he and his entire household believed in Jesus. This was the second miraculous sign Jesus did in Galilee after coming from Judea.


Other names for Jesus

· Elohim: Restorer.

· Jehovah Nissi: Banner in a spiritual battle.

· Jehovah Rapha: My Healer.

· Jehovah Shalom: You are my peace.

· Jehovah Rohi: You are my shepherd.

· Jehovah Tsaba: You are my warrior.

· El Shaddai: You are God almighty.

· Jehovah Jireh: My provider.

· The Light of the World.

John 8:12 When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness but will have the light of life.”

· The Messiah.

Matthew 16:13-16 When Jesus came to the region of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, “Who do people say the Son of Man is?” They replied, “Some say John the Baptist; others say Elijah; and still others, Jeremiah or one of the prophets.” “But what about you? “he asked. “Who do you say I am?” Simon Peter answered, “You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God.”


Who do you say He is?

· Omniscient All Knowing!

· Omnipotent All powerful!

· Omnipresent All Present!

· Omnibenevolent Infinitely Good!

· Lord you are my protector.

· Lord you are my savior.

· Lord you are my friend.

· Lord you are my deliverer.

· Lord you are my Father.

· You lead and guide me throughout my life.

· You provide me with everything that I need. I haven’t lacked anything since following you. You have sustained me. My help comes from you only.

· You have shielded and protected me and my family from all evil, danger seen and unseen. You are my shelter from the storms of life.

· You have forgiven me, saved me, transformed me and gave me the gift of eternal life.

· Whenever my spirit was troubled and gripped with fear. Lord, you showed up and reassured me that you were with me and showered me with your peace during my times of need.

· When I’m feeling lonely, I can always count on you to be with me.

· Lord, you are the God who speaks to me.

· Lord, you are my rock! You are solid, dependable and constant in my life. No matter where I find myself, I know exactly where I can find my rock!

Isaiah 26:4Trust in the Lord always, for the Lord God is the eternal Rock.

· Lord, you never waver. You do exactly what you said you will do. Everything you say is true. I trust your unwavering love.


Prayer: Prayer: Father God, you are my rock. You will not move, nor will you change. I know where to find you, and I know what you tell me is true. In your shadow, I will always be safe. In your light, I am illuminated. In your love, I am eternally loved. In Jesus name, I pray, Amen.


Jesus Tested in the wilderness.

Matthew 4:1-11 Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry. The tempter came to him and said, “If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread.” Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’” Then the devil took him to the holy city and had him stand on the highest point of the temple. “If you are the Son of God,” he said, “throw yourself down. For it is written: “‘He will command his angels concerning you, and they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.’” Jesus answered him, “It is also written: ‘Do not put the Lord your God to the test.’” Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their splendor. “All this I will give you,” he said, “if you will bow down and worship me.” Jesus said to him, “Away from me, Satan! For it is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God and serve him only.’” Then the devil left him, and angels came and attended him.


The Crucifixion of Jesus

· His Betrayer: Judas agrees to betray Jesus.

Matthew 26:14-16 Then Judas Iscariot, one of the twelve disciples, went to the leading priests and asked, “How much will you pay me to betray Jesus to you?” And they gave him thirty pieces of silver. From that time on, Judas began looking for an opportunity to betray Jesus.


· Peter Disowns Jesus

Matthew 26:69-75 Meanwhile, Peter was sitting outside in the courtyard. A servant girl came over and said to him, “You were one of those with Jesus the Galilean.” But Peter denied it in front of everyone. “I don’t know what you’re talking about,” he said. Later, out by the gate, another servant girl noticed him and said to those standing around, “This man was with Jesus of Nazareth. Again, Peter denied it, this time with an oath. “I don’t even know the man,” he said. A little later some of the other bystanders came over to Peter and said, “You must be one of them; we can tell by your Galilean accent.” Peter swore, “A curse on me if I’m lying, I don’t know the man!” And immediately the rooster crowed. Suddenly, Jesus’ words flashed through Peter’s mind: “Before the rooster crows, you will deny three times that you even know me.” And he went away, weeping bitterly.


Mark 15:21-32 A certain man from Cyrene, Simon, the father of Alexander and Rufus, was passing by on his way in from the country, and they forced him to carry the cross. They brought Jesus to the place called Golgotha (which means “the place of the skull”). Then they offered him wine mixed with myrrh, but he did not take it. And they crucified him. Dividing up his clothes, they cast lots to see what each would get.

It was nine in the morning when they crucified him. The written notice of the charge against him read: the king of the Jews.


They crucified two rebels with him, one on his right and one on his left. Those who passed by hurled insults at him, shaking their heads and saying, “So! You who are going to destroy the temple and build it in three days, come down from the cross and save yourself!” In the same way the chief priests and the teachers of the law mocked him among themselves. “He saved others,” they said, “but he can’t save himself! Let this Messiah, this king of Israel, come down now from the cross, that we may see and believe.” Those crucified with him also heaped insults on him.


The Death of Jesus

Mark 15:33-41 At noon, darkness came over the whole land until three in the afternoon. And at three in the afternoon Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” (Which means “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”).


When some of those standing near heard this, they said, “Listen, he’s calling Elijah.”

Someone ran, filled a sponge with wine vinegar, put it on a staff, and offered it to Jesus to drink. “Now leave him alone. Let’s see if Elijah comes to take him down,” he said.


With a loud cry, Jesus breathed his last.


The curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. And when the centurion, who stood there in front of Jesus, saw how he died, he said, “Surely this man was the Son of God!”


Some women were watching from a distance. Among them were Mary Magdalene, Mary the mother of James the younger and of Joseph, and Salome. In Galilee these women had followed him and cared for his needs. Many other women who had come up with him to Jerusalem were also there.


Jesus Will Return

2 Peter 3:10-14 But the day of the Lord will come like a thief. The heavens will disappear with a roar; the elements will be destroyed by fire, and the earth and everything done in it will be laid bare. Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be? You ought to live holy and godly lives as you look forward to the day of God and speed its coming. That day will bring about the destruction of the heavens by fire, and the elements will melt in the heat. But in keeping with his promise, we are looking forward to a new heaven and a new earth, where righteousness dwells. So then, dear friends, since you are looking forward to this, make every effort to be found spotless, blameless and at peace with him.

Jude 1:14 Enoch, the seventh from Adam, prophesied about them: “See, the Lord is coming with thousands upon thousands of his holy ones.

2 Peter 3:17-18 Therefore, dear friends, since you have been forewarned, be on your guard so that you may not be carried away by the error of the lawless and fall from your secure position. But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen.


Exercise:

1. In what ways do I need to shift my thinking on how I view Jesus Christ?

2. What do I say is true about Jesus Christ?

3. What does it say about the character of God, that he would humble himself to appear as a man for us?

4. Am I living according to the Word of God?


0 views0 comments

©2022 by givegrace.com. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page