top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Garland

Shalom



The Hebrew word "shalom" is where we get our word for "peace." But peace doesn't quite do the definition of shalom any justice. But shalom means the presence of prosperity, wholeness, tranquility, welfare, harmony, and peace. It can also be translated to mean a kind of peace that binds chaos.


To be mentally free we must embrace that rest is our portion in Christ Jesus. Rest is our birthright. Jesus received punishment on his physical body for me to have peace in my life and peace with God. When Jesus said, "It is finished!" on the cross, He meant it. When we embrace a lifestyle with this as a foundation to stand on, it reorders everything according to how God created us to function. This brings Him honor and glory and allows us to receive freely all that He has poured out on us as His children and heirs. Our acknowledgement of Him as Lord of our lives allows for true shalom to stand guard like a solider over our minds and keeps us in His perfect peace.


We receive God's peace when we believe in the truth of scripture that God loves us, knows what's best for us, and can bring about what's best in our lives. Living a life of peace gives health to the body. So, let's replace worry with prayer, which will equal the peace of God today.


Prayer: Jesus, help me reject the lies of the enemy. Help me overcome my anxious heart. Help me to trust that you are in control. Help me believe that the spirit who raised you from the dead dwells within me. Lord, I need rest, I give you, my worries. I accept your peace, your love, and understanding. Help me to turn to you and not to myself. Help me to stop doing and start trusting. Help me to wait for your answers because I know that they are good. Give me the peace that surpasses all my understanding. Let your peace occupy my heart and my mind. Lord you are my peace. You are my very present help in trouble. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.


Scripture Reference

Hebrews 12:14-15 Make every effort to live in peace with everyone and to be holy; without holiness no one will see the Lord. See to it that no one falls short of the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many.

Proverbs 14:30 A heart at peace gives life to the body, but envy rots the bones.

Isaiah 26:3-4 You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you. Trust in the lord forever, for the lord, the lord himself is the rock eternal.

Matthew 11:28-30 Jesus says “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you, my piece I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your heart be troubled and do not be afraid.

2 Thessalonians 3:16 Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times and in every way. The Lord be with all of you.

Paul said: And the God of peace will crush Satan under your feet shortly. (Romans 16:20)



0 views0 comments

©2022 by givegrace.com. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page