top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Garland

4 Day Word Fast

Updated: Oct 1, 2022

Before you start this fast make sure you have completed the 7 steps below.


What to do before and while on a fast?

  1. Do not tell anyone you are on a fast.

  2. Refuse to obey your carnal (worldly) nature.

  3. Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal any unconfessed sin in your life.

  4. Ask the Holy Spirit to guard your walk against complacency and mediocrity.

  5. Seek forgiveness from all whom you have offended and forgive all who have hurt you.

  6. Praise and give thanks to God continually in all ways on all days, regardless of your circumstances.

  7. Examine your motives in every word and deed. Ask the Lord to search and cleanse your heart and fast for a right motive.

Each day I want you to fast from doing one of the following 4 things listed below. Ask the Holy Spirit to lead and guide you during this fast into all truths. Study each word daily and search the bible for scriptures concerning these things. Let’s remember to not just read the word but apply these things to our everyday life living to become more Christ like.


Day 1

Complaining: to express feelings of pain, dissatisfaction, or resentment.

  • If we learn to tame our words, we can surely tame our bodies and our mind.

  • Complaining will blind us to all the good things the Lord has accomplished for us.

  • Grumbling, whining, they all have the same effect. They quench the spirit of the Lord.

  • Complaining disavow all of God’s past provision and his hopes and promises for the future.

  • In the act of complaining, you create an atmosphere, that cannot host the presence of God.

  • The words that come out of your mouth have the ability to heal or hurt. They either bring reconciliation or division.

  • The very nature of God is goodness (Exodus 33:18-19). When we complain, we are saying “God, I really don’t believe you are good. I don’t believe that you have it under control.

So, in order for you and me to overcome complaining, we need to start by focusing on the many good things the Lord has already done for us.


Prayer: Holy Spirit sensitize me to my own heart, so I can listen carefully to the words coming out of it. Help me to keep a guard over my tongue and my mouth Holy Spirit. Help me to speak words that will encourage myself and others. Lord, I ask that you forgive me for all of the times when I complained and was ungrateful. May I always reflect back to all the good things you have done for me when the thought of complaining comes to my mind. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.


Scripture Reference


1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Proverbs 18:21 The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.

Isaiah 58:9 Then you will call, and the Lord will answer; you will cry for help, and he will say: Here am I. “If you do away with the yoke of oppression, with the pointing finger and malicious talk.


Day 2

Criticism: the act or an instance of making an unfavorable or severe judgement, comment, etc.

  • Criticism destroys trust, it hinders honesty and authenticity.

  • Our words should exalt others. (Entreat or encourage, inspire, and motivate)

  • Don’t mistakenly assume your ability to tear apart a person, suggestion, program or idea as discernment.

  • Secret criticism is the most insidious danger to unity and fellowship. (Hidden in the heart and not spoken)

  • The most effective way to deal with your thoughts of criticism is to be silent. Remember your mom would always say “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all”.

Exercise:

Take a moment and ask yourself this question. Do my words edify? Are they beneficial?


Prayer: Father God, thank you for your revelation on Criticism. Forgive me Father for at any time I have criticized someone knowingly or unknowingly. May my words always exalt, encourage and uplift everyone i come in contact with from this day forward. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.


Scripture Reference


Psalms 19:14 May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight,

Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

Colossians 4:6 Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.

James 1:26 Those who consider themselves religious and yet do not keep a tight rein on their tongues deceive themselves, and their religion is worthless.


Day 3

Judging: making or expressing a negative assessment of someone or something; condemning.


2 ways we judge others

  1. When you think you know why they did what they did.

  2. When you see someone’s actions and you make an estimate as to the value or worth of that person.

How to stop Judging

  1. Observe the fruit of someone’s life.

  2. Stop thinking you can know the intentions of another person’s heart. Only God knows the heart.

  3. You must live in the spirit. Choose daily to rely on the Holy Spirit to guide your thoughts, words and actions. The Holy Spirit will give you discernment you need to make decisions.

Prayer: Dear God, thank you for the revelation on judging others. Forgive me Lord for casting judgement on others. Lord, only you know the intentions and motives of my heart and everyone else's heart and only you can judge your people. Help me to see the good in everyone and rely solely on the Holy Spirit to give me discernment in the decisions and my thoughts on others, in Jesus' name I pray, Amen.


Scripture Reference


Galatians 5:22-23 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

Romans 8:5-6 Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace.

Luke 6:37 “Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.

James 4:11 Brothers and sisters, do not slander one another. Anyone who speaks against a brother or sister or judges them speaks against the law and judges it. When you judge the law, you are not keeping it, but sitting in judgment on it.


Day 4

Gossip: idle talk or rumor, especially about the personal or private affairs of others.

Gossip can lead to alienation, depression, and the loss of lifelong friends. Make a conscious effort to not partake in idle conversations. These type of conversation does not edify you or the people involved.


Prayer: Dear God, I understand that Gossip is not in your character and therefore it should not be in my character. My character should always reflect you, because you are within me, and I have put off my old man and have become a new creation in Christ. Help to always stray away from conversations that are not pleasing to you. May my conversations always produce good fruit and be uplifting to those who speak with me. In Jesus name, Amen.


Scripture Reference


Proverbs 6:16-19 lists six things the Lord hates and a 7th that is an abomination to him. “One who sows discord among brothers”

Proverbs 20:19 A gossip betrays a confidence; so, avoid anyone who talks too much.

Ephesians 4:29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2022 by givegrace.com. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page