top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Garland

The Gift of Judas!

Hey there friends! I'm sure we have all experienced a Judas in our lifetime. Some more than others. As for myself, I have had quite a few Judas in my circle of friends and family. Yes, I just referenced them as friends. There are valuable lessons in friendships and relationships. They help you grow and mature in your walk with Christ. It gives you the opportunity to demonstrate the renewed you in Christ Jesus. It gives you opportunity to give grace and love.


Let's take a look at the meaning of the word betrayal: it is when someone violates the trust, loyalty, or well-being in a relationship and or friendship. We typical always know and trust the person who has betrayed us. We trusted them to keep their word and commitment, we trusted them to keep our secrets, we trusted them to operate with integrity, to help us and not harm us, and so on, but they did the opposite.


In a very popular account in the Bible. It tells us that Jesus had a friend by the name of Judas. Who betrayed him in the end. I'm here to tell you that there is no prevention from human betrayal, but Jesus shows God's remedy in John Chapter 13. Take a moment and read over this passage.


My takeaway from the passage is that Jesus took a posture of redemption in betrayal. Jesus leads us to live with courage, vulnerability, and grace regardless of human betrayal. Jesus teaches us how to acknowledge the hurt while still loving out betrayer.


Without Judas, scripture would not have been able to be fulfilled. Judas helped Jesus accomplish God's purpose for His life. Without your Judas that you have currently in your life, or the Judas that I currently have in my life... the next Chapters in my life wouldn't be fulfilled. Long story short, we need our Judas to get us to the plan and purpose God has for our lives. Without Judas, we probably wouldn't pray as much. Sometimes, your Judas will keep you at the feet of the father. Lol. But seriously I love each and every Judas in my life. They keep me grounded and at the feet of Jesus. I love them despite of the betrayal, the hate, the envy, the lies, the gossip, etc... I love them and wish nothing but the best for them. I pray that my reaction to their betrayal reflects Christ that lives within me. I trust that God is using every situation, this person, this evil coming at me to do something good in my life. Amen!


I believe that everything Jesus spoke had significance and meaning. I believe one of the reasons he called Judas "friend" is that He had already forgiven him and loved His enemy. Another reason would be that he understood the truth of Romans 8:28 "in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose."


Even when we are mistreated and rejected by those we love, we don't have to allow sin against us to produce sin within us. When we co-labor with God in loving others, we are called to love even those who are hard to love. "Love your enemies" Jesus said, "Do good to those who hate you."


Prayer: Lord, please forgive me when I view a situation through the lens of my exhaustion and frustration, instead of asking for your perspective. Lord, thank you for the revelation of the Judas in my life. Thank you, Holy Spirit that you lead and guide me in my response to betrayal. Thank you, Jesus for laying the foundation and blueprint on how to forgive and love those who do us wrong and or harm. May I always walk in obedience to your word and instructions. May I always be quick to forgive. May I always respond in love. In Jesus name, Amen.


Scripture Reference


John 13:21-27 After he had said this, Jesus was troubled in spirit and testified, “Very truly I tell you, one of you is going to betray me.” His disciples stared at one another, at a loss to know which of them he meant. One of them, the disciple whom Jesus loved, was reclining next to him. Simon Peter motioned to this disciple and said, “Ask him which one he means.” Leaning back against Jesus, he asked him, “Lord, who is it?” Jesus answered, “It is the one to whom I will give this piece of bread when I have dipped it in the dish.” Then, dipping the piece of bread, he gave it to Judas, the son of Simon Iscariot. As soon as Judas took the bread, Satan entered into him. So, Jesus told him, “What you are about to do, do quickly.”


Job 6-14 “Anyone who withholds kindness from a friend forsakes the fear of the Almighty.


Romans 8:28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.


James 1:2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds,

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2022 by givegrace.com. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page