top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Garland

The God who delivers!

The Bible records many instances of people being delivered by God from all kinds of troubles, including sin, sickness, enemies, and even death. The stories of deliverance in the Bible remind us of God’s power and willingness to save us from every kind of trouble we may face.


Deliverance reminds us that God is powerful, loving, and faithful and desires to set us free from all that would hold us back and keep us from living the abundant life He has for us.


You could say deliverance expresses something being handed over, changing the possession from one person to another.


It’s something formerly confined and suddenly being set free into life.


It’s someone rescued from a bad situation and brought into restoration.


I am writing all this to tell you, that even though Jesus died and rose again, and is now seated next to His Father in heaven, He has not changed His ministry here on earth!


Jesus is still doing this deliverance ministry through His Holy Spirit today. He wants to set you free like no medicine or counselor could do. In Him, there is still true deliverance of everything you could think of.


All healing and restoration you need for your life you will only find in Jesus.


Choose life, choose your freedom, choose Jesus!


“He who believes in the Son has everlasting life; and he who does not believe the Son shall not see life, but the wrath of God abides on him.” (John 3:36)


What is deliverance according to the Bible?

- In the Bible, deliverance is a central theme throughout the Old and New Testaments. It refers to being rescued or set free from bondage or oppression, whether physical, emotional, or spiritual. It is God’s act of saving or rescuing his people from their enemies or the consequences of their sins.

- The Bible teaches that true deliverance can only come through faith in Jesus Christ, the ultimate deliverer. Through his death and resurrection, Jesus has made it possible for people to be saved from sin and death and to experience true freedom and abundant life. (John 3:16)


Types of deliverance in the Bible.

- Deliverance from sin refers to being saved from the power and penalty of sin through faith in Jesus Christ. The Bible teaches that all have sinned and fall short of God’s glory (Romans 3:23) but that salvation is available to all who believe in Jesus Christ (John 3:16).

- Deliverance from your enemies refers to being saved from physical enemies or oppressors. For example, God delivered the Israelites from the Egyptians when they were enslaved (Exodus 14:30), and he also delivered David from the hand of Saul (1 Samuel 23:14).

- Deliverance from death refers to being saved from physical death. The Bible teaches that those who believe in Jesus Christ will not perish but have eternal life (John 3:16). Jesus conquered death through his resurrection, and believers have the hope of eternal life with Him (1 Corinthians 15:54-57).


Biblical references about deliverance.

- Psalm 34:17

This verse promises that God hears and delivers the righteous when they call out to Him.

- Psalm 91:15

This verse illustrates how God promises to answer those who call on Him and deliver them from their troubles.

- Matthew 6:13

This verse is part of the Lord’s Prayer, in which Jesus teaches His disciples to ask God for deliverance from temptations.

- 2 Corinthians 1:10

In this verse, the apostle Paul expresses his confidence that God has delivered him from a dangerous situation and will continue to deliver him.

- Psalms 18:2

In this verse, the psalmist acknowledges that God is his deliverer and takes refuge in Him.

- 1 Peter 5:10

This verse states that God promises to restore and strengthen us after we have suffered for a little while.

- Acts 2:21

This verse encourages us to call on the name of the Lord for deliverance and salvation.

- 2 Timothy 4:18

In this passage, Paul expresses his confidence in God’s ability to deliver him from all evil and bring him to heaven.

- Luke 4:18

Jesus quotes this verse in the synagogue, applying it to Himself and declaring that He has come to bring deliverance.

- Exodus 14:13

This verse illustrates how God delivered the Israelites from Egypt.


Prayers of deliverance


Prayer for Deliverance from Darkness

Holy Father, thank you for always being with me, and for being the ultimate source of light. Your Word says that in Heaven there will be no need for the sun because of Your glory. Lord, right now I am in a dark place. Spiritually, I feel lost. My sins weigh heavy on my heart, and though I know I am forgiven, I am struggling with my flesh. I cannot see where I am supposed to go, what direction I should turn. It seems like everything is dark, and there is no hope for me or for those around me. Lord, the Bible tells me that if the righteous cry out, you hear us, and you deliver us. Please deliver me from this dark valley through which I walk. I am stumbling in this period of uncertainty and struggle. Keep my feet on solid ground and help me resist the temptation of the flesh. Help me feel the Spirit’s guidance and hear its whispers so that I may go from this darkness and toward Your light. In the Name of Jesus, I pray, Amen.

Prayer for Deliverance and Restoration

Holy Father, thank you for being the one who restores the hurt, the broken, and the isolated. Your Word promises that one day, all things will be restored to wholeness, without sin in the New Heaven and the New Earth. Thank you for restoring the relationship between people and yourself through the blood of Jesus Christ! Lord, I am in a place where I am separated from where I want to be, from the people I want to be close to, and from You, the source of hope and life. Lord, please deliver me from this dark place, and this place of separation, and restore me to a right relationship with You and with those around me. Restore and refresh my soul, O Lord! Fill me with the Holy Spirit. In the Name of Jesus, I pray, Amen.

Prayer for Deliverance from Evil

Holy Father, thank you for being the one who guards the sheep on Your pasture, laying down Your body in the gate to prevent thieves and robbers from entering and destroying Your flock. Your Word says that You will strengthen those who love You and protect them from the predations of the evil one. Lord, deliver me from evil. Keep me from walking into places where I will be tempted to stray from You and Your ways. Help me to follow Your Word, and to guard my heart from wickedness. Send Your Spirit to help me discern when someone comes to me with ill-intent. Only You can deliver Your prodigal children from their evil instincts, from the evil in this fallen world, and from the evil of Satan. Lord, keep me safe from evil. In the Name of Jesus, I pray, Amen.

Prayer for Deliverance from Sickness

Holy Father, thank you for being the Great Physician, who knows the existence of all disease, and has the ability to heal. Your Word says You give sight to the blind, lift up those who love You and love righteousness. Lord, I am currently unwell. This temporary, earthly body of mine is under attack from disease, a byproduct of living in the fallen world. If it is Your will, please help it to heal. Strengthen my immune system and my body, so that I can recover to Your glory. Of course, as the Apostle Paul wrote, to live is Christ and to die is to be with You. Lord, please heal me. In the Name of Jess, I pray, Amen.

Breakthrough Deliverance Prayer

Dear Lord, I need a breakthrough. I pray that You speak favor into my life. I pray You let your glory shine through me, and You deliver me from this situation. In Your almighty name of Jesus Christ, I pray, Amen.

Prayer For Deliverance from Fear

Dear Lord Jesus, I know Your Word tells me not to be afraid, but I see the situations in my life and the world today and cannot help but worry. Please help me replace my fears with Your truths and help me strengthen my faith in You. I know you will not leave me nor forsake me, and Your Word is true. I pray this in Your almighty name of Jesus Christ, I pray, Amen.


Scripture Reference

2 Timothy 4:17-18But the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed, and all the Gentiles might hear it. And I was delivered from the lion’s mouth. The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and will bring me safely to his heavenly kingdom. To him be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

Exodus 14:13 Moses answered the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the Lord will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again.

Luke 4:18 “The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to set the oppressed free.

Acts 2:21 And everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.’

1 Peter 5:10 And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.

Psalms 18:2 The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the hornof my salvation, my stronghold.

2 Corinthians 1:10He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us again. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us.

Matthew 6:13And lead us not into temptation but deliver us from the evil one.

Psalm 34:17The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles.

Psalm 91:15He will call on me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2022 by givegrace.com. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page