top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Garland

What’s stressing you?

Research has found that we continually solve our stress with pleasure. We have the inability to face our stress. Which only strengthens our stressors. The bible is clear that pursuing pleasure only hurts us in the long run.


Here are some biblical examples of pleasures that lead to the wrong things:

· The story of the prodigal son in Luke 15. The son pursued all the pleasure he could, until he was left with nothing in an extreme famine.

· Esau who, for the pleasure of food, sold his birthright to Jacob. (Genesis 25:32)


What pleasures are you turning to when you feel stressed?


Stress declares war on what you believe.


God desires for us to be happy, but not at the expense of knowing Him and all He has for us. God wants us to grow through difficult things and experience the happiness of lasting joy in Him.


When we keep our mind on our problems, we create anxiety and stress. But when we keep our minds on the promises of God, we create a lifestyle of peace.


Psalms 27:14 tells us to wait for the Lord and have strength and courage. Before we try to escape our pain with pleasure, we need to have the courage to wait for the Lord.


Pause, practice stillness! Don’t allow yourself to try to solve your stress by your own power.


The Bible is clear: we are not meant to run from our pain, but face it, long enough to find the joy of God on the other side.


Prayer: Dear God, you see every hurt and disappointment I face. You hear my cries, and you draw near to me with the comfort of your presence. I trust your words that say, you draw near the broken hearted, those crushed in spirit. Thank you, Lord, for meeting me in the messiness of my emotions today. Lord, reveal more of your true character to me. Holy Spirit help me to not stress about the things that I cannot change but to rest in your presence and experience your peace. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.


Scripture Reference

Matthew 11:28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.

James 1:2-4 Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles of any kind come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing.

Psalms 94:19 When doubts filled my mind, your comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer.

Philippians 4:6 Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need and thank him for all he has done.

Psalms 119:143 As pressure and stress bear down on me, I find joy in your commands.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2022 by givegrace.com. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page