top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Garland

Detours

Hello my friends! As we all can relate to Detours when we are on a journey, they tend to pop up out of nowhere! Knocks your whole train of thought off and leaves your mind spinning.


Detours can be a valuable part of the plan, revealing new things to you about yourself and the path that you are on. Don’t become so discouraged by the delays that you give up on the pursuit of your passion.


As long as you are leaning into God’s guidance individually and in community, and honestly desiring to follow the leading of the Holy Spirit, you can’t get too far off course. Have confidence and rest in the knowledge that if you are seeking God’s will, he will redirect your path to take you where he wants you to go.


Rather than dwell on what might be “right” or “wrong” about a decision in front of you, list ways in which you can rely On God’s wisdom to guide you through the unforeseen outcomes of your choices.


Cautiously move ahead in what honestly appears to be the best direction, consciously trusting God to confirm or to restrain, by either opening or shutting doors. When you do not have a clear answer, move ahead trusting God to show you. Pray: God, I am going to go in this direction unless you show me otherwise. Please stop me (in my spirit) if I should not do this.


Yes, we must wait on the Lord but do not use that as an excuse not to move forward in obedience.


Prayer: Heavenly Father, I trust you with what I’ll start and stop. I trust you with where I’ll stay and go. I trust you enough to give my life to serve and connect to people. I trust you are present with purpose in the midst of my life’s storms. Thank you for being with me, guiding my steps and giving me divine direction. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.


Scripture Reference

Psalms 16:11 You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

Psalms 25:14 The Lord confides in those who fear him; he makes his covenant known to them.

Psalms 32:8 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.

Psalms 37:3-4 Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture. Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

John 16:13 But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come.

Proverbs 16:9 In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps.

Isaiah 30:21 Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2022 by givegrace.com. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page