top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Garland

Listening to God’s Directions

Wise to Listen

Imagine if everyone viewed a red light as a suggestion rather than a law. The results wouldn’t be pleasant. There would be so many fatalities and accidents happening all around us.


It is important that you listen to the Holy Spirit, for the way God has planned to lead you out of any situation is not necessarily conceivable with your reason.


Proverbs 15:32 says, those who disregard discipline despise themselves, but the one who heeds correction gains understanding.

These scenarios explain what this verse is about.


1. A smart person will take the advice of someone who understands what the consequences of his actions might be.


2. Parents correct their children because they want to keep them from the consequences they know will come if their child disobeys.



3. A police officer writes a ticket for a speeding driver because he or she has seen firsthand too many fatal accidents from the same carelessness.



4. A wise person will listen to reproof and learn from it.


I want Jesus to be my right hand, my left hand, my before, my after and everything in between. I want to know His ways, wisdom, and plans because they will be so good. I must resign from my self-made post of control freak and trust God to lead. Even more so when life’s rough.


God is our very source of life. He is the one who will guide us into our new stories, which center around who He created us to be and what He planned for us to do as His Kingdom comes.


Just as God was with the people who were delivered from slavery in Egypt, He is with those He has delivered from the slavery of sin. He also does not leave us to fend for ourselves. Instead, He stays with us to lead and guide us. Through the guidance of the Bible and the Holy Spirit, we are never apart from His presence and direction.


God’s response to Moses' prayer for assurance about what lies ahead: God doesn’t promise to give Moses every single detail in advance of what will unfold. He gives him an even greater promise, the promise of his presence, which will be present through every twist, turn, and trial along the way to the Promised Land.


God’s presence is the ultimate source of assurance because it provides us with whatever we need, when we need it, when we need peace, need joy? God’s presence is where fullness of joy is found. Need wisdom, courage, compassion, love? Whatever you need can and will flow into your life from the Lord’s presence.


Prayer: Lord, correct, confirm or cancel anything I have believed for that is not like you or not your will for my life. Whatever you did not say I will give it back to you. I don’t want to live in a fantasy world outside of your divine plan for my life. Holy Spirit, guide me in your truth. I listen for your words of wisdom and direction over my life, and I take each step with persistent vision. I don’t need to know the whole road, just what you are asking me to do here and now. If I have missed a step, please remind me of the step I missed. I am listening. Reveal to me anything that is hindering me from your promises. Father, because I know that only your counsel shall and will prevail in the end, I don’t want to waste my time or attach myself to anyone or anything that will come up fruitless at the end of my pursuit. Give me clarity, should I move forward or should I stay planted. Give me clarity and wisdom concerning your plans for my life in the name of Jesus. Thank you in advance for clarity and correction. Thank you for your word. I will be spirit led in Jesus' name, Amen.


Exercise

1. Are you paying attention to His guidance by reading His word and praying daily?


2. Commit today to stay focused on His plan and path by engaging in regular prayer and time in the Bible. Just as He led the Israelites through their journey, He will guide you day and night through your life journey as well.


Scripture Reference

Exodus 33:13 Lord, “show me now your way, that I may know you and that I may find grace in your sight.

Lamentations 3:25 The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him.

Psalms 119:10 I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands.

Amos 5:4 This is what the Lord says to Israel: “Seek me and live.”

Matthew 6:33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2022 by givegrace.com. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page